Jacob Seyer (M.Mus) is a Pacific Northwest based acoustic fingerstyle guitarist, international award winning composer, and renowned music instructor with over 15 years of diverse experience in the music industry. Jacob’s music has been described by peers, critics, and audience members as “sophisticated,” “groundbreaking,” and “full of variety.”

From a young age, visual and performing arts surrounded Jacob, greatly influencing his open-minded and clear communication style. Jacob performed throughout his youth as a drummer in punk/post-hardcore bands, eventually inspiring him to dive deeper. His newfound pursuit of the guitar led Jacob through many genres including prog-metal, percussive acoustic, and classical guitar.


Jacob obtained his Bachelor of Music degree in Classical Guitar Performance with early-music specialist, Dr. Jeffery Noonan. He then pursued his Master of Music degree under the guidance of Dr. Daniel Bolshoy. In these seven years, Jacob studied and performed a diversely cultured repertoire ranging from the 16th to 21st century as a soloist, chamber musician, and orchestral feature artist.


The following  years of Jacob’s career were filled with composition, album production, and touring throughout the U.S., Canada, and South America. Jacob now spends his time producing entertaining educational content and new music both as a soloist and in collaboration with his wife, Deavyn West. Their ensemble, “Ember Duo,” is a multi-instrumental composition project rooted in exploring exciting new musical territories using both acoustic and electronic instruments. 

Jacob's progressive style of guitar composition was recently awarded 2nd Prize in the 2021 Russian composition competition, "The Time of The Guitar International" where his piece, "Relictus (En Aethere)" was praised for being "mesmerizing" with "very convincing imagery." Jacob's score for "Relictus" will be released by the Danish publishing company, Bergmann Edition.

Jacob’s unique perspective in production is reflected in his love for teaching. In 2018, Jacob was awarded “Teacher of the Year” at the Vancouver Central School of Music for his passionate and straightforward approach to music education. Jacob’s dynamic teaching style has been described by his students as “enthusiastic,”  “compassionate,” and “adaptable,” enabling students to learn quickly and break into new levels of their playing throughout their time in his studio. From composing original music to bolstering classical guitar chops, to playing “Blackbird,” music from The Legend of Zelda, or Andy McKee’s percussive guitar hit, “Drifting,” Jacobs students are all provided a safe and encouraging environment to explore and discover their own voice in music.

Accolades and Academic Achievement

  • 2021 - Time Of The Guitar International Composition Competition - 2nd Prize 

  • 2018 - Vancouver Central School of Music - Teacher of The Year

  • 2017-18 - Director of Public Relations - Canada International Arts and Music Society

  • 2017 - Jury Member - Vancouver International Music Competition

  • 2017 - University of British Columbia - Master of Music Degree (On Scholarship) 

  • 2014 - Southeast Missouri State University - Bachelor of Music Degree (On Scholarship)

Festival Circuit 

  • Festival Circuit 

  • 2018 - 2020: Vancouver Symphony Day of Music

    • Feature Performing Artist and Clinician​

  • 2018-19:  Vancouver International Guitar Festival - Vancouver, BC

    • Feature Performing Artist, Luthier Demonstrator, & Clinician​

  • 2019: Pacific Woodlab Concert Series - Vancouver, BC

    • Feature Performing Artist ​

  • 2019: "RAW:natural born artists" Showcase - Vancouver BC & Seattle WA

    • Feature Performing Artist ​

  • 2018: Semana De La Guitarra (Week of the Guitar) - El Retiro, Colombia 

    • Feature Performing Artist & Clinician 

  • 2018: 21st Annual West Coast Guitar Night - Vancouver BC

    • Feature Performing Artist ​

  • 2018: Sonic Boom Festival - Vancouver, BC

    • Commissioned Performer ​

      • Booked in 2020, Canceled due to C-19